Girls' Cross-Country

Thursday, December 20, 2007

Runner of the Year

Lia DiValentin, Chantilly, Jr.

DiValentin won the Judges Classic and the Monroe Parker Invitational before peaking in time for the postseason, when she won the Concorde District and Northern Region titles. She also was runner-up at the Virginia AAA championship in 17:58 and recorded her career best, the fastest time by an area runner, at Foot Locker South in 17:48.

Coach of the Year

Cindy Walls, Bishop O'Connell

First Team

Frances Dowd, Fairfax, Jr.

Megan Fitzpatrick, O'Connell, Jr.

Elizabeth Heath, West Potomac, Sr.

Becca Kassabian, Oakton, Jr.

Susanna Sullivan, George Mason, Sr.

Hiruni Wijayaratne, Herndon, Jr.

Anneka Wilson, Potomac School, Soph.

© 2007 The Washington Post Company