Never Been Asked to Dance

Never Been Asked to Dance

Saturday, March 15, 2008

With American's win, it removed its name from the list of 32 schools (out of 330* colleges and universities eligible for postseason play in Division I) to never have earned a berth in a Division I men's or women's basketball tournament. Portland State also qualified for the first time this season, and Morgan State can earn its first bid today. The schools that still haven't made the tournament and the year they became eligible:

Arkansas-Pine Bluff (1999)

Bethune-Cookman (1981)

Binghamton (2002)

Birmingham-Southern (2004)

Buffalo (1974-77, 1992)

Cal Poly-SLO (1995)

Centenary (1960)

Chicago State (1985)

The Citadel (1948)

Elon (2000)

Gardner-Webb (2003)

CONTINUED     1           >

© 2008 The Washington Post Company