Friday, March 28, 2008

U.S. citizenship: Puerto Rico is a U.S. territory with commonwealth status. Island residents are U.S. citizens but do not vote in general elections for U.S. president.

U.S. representation: By popular vote, Puerto Rico elects a resident commissioner to serve a four-year term as a nonvoting representative in the U.S. House of Representatives.

Population: 3,944,259 (July 2007 estimate).

Capital: San Juan.

Religion: 85 percent Roman Catholic.

Languages: Spanish and English.

Legal system: Based on the Spanish civil code but within the U.S. federal system of justice.

SOURCE: CIA World Factbook

© 2008 The Washington Post Company