9th-Best ACC Team to Play In D.C. Bowl

Wednesday, July 23, 2008

ACC Commissioner John Swofford confirmed yesterday that the inaugural Congressional Bowl, to be held Dec. 20 at Nationals Park, will feature the conference's ninth-best team, "assuming we have nine teams [bowl] eligible."

Approved by the NCAA in May, the Congressional Bowl will be the first college football bowl game in the District. Assuming it is bowl eligible, Navy will take on an ACC team. Teams must win at least six games to be eligible for a bowl game. Last season, eight of the 12 ACC teams qualified for bowl games.

Speaking to reporters yesterday at the ACC Football Kickoff in Greensboro, Ga., Swofford also announced the conference's male and female athletes of the year. North Carolina men's basketball player Tyler Hansbrough and Virginia Tech softball player Angela Tincher claimed the honors. Each athlete won national player of the year honors in their respective sports while leading their teams to ACC championships. The awards were voted on by 67 members of the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association.

Tincher, the first Virginia Tech athlete to receive the conference's top individual honor, threw a no-hitter against the U.S. national team in March, which ended the national team's 185-game pre-Olympic exhibition game winning streak. She also helped lead Virginia Tech to the program's first appearance in the Women's College World Series.

Hansbrough helped the Tar Heels reach the Final Four by averaging 22.6 points and 10.2 rebounds.

-- Steve Yanda

View all comments that have been posted about this article.

© 2008 The Washington Post Company