How They Voted

Tuesday, September 30, 2008

Following is the 228 to 205 vote by which the House rejected a $700 billion emergency bailout for the nation's financial system:

ALABAMA -- Democrats: Cramer, yes; Davis, yes. Republicans: Aderholt, no; Bachus, yes; Bonner, yes; Everett, yes; Rogers, yes.

ALASKA -- Republicans: Young, no.

ARIZONA -- Democrats: Giffords, no; Grijalva, no; Mitchell, no; Pastor, no. Republicans: Flake, no; Franks, no; Renzi, no; Shadegg, no.

ARKANSAS -- Democrats: Berry, yes; Ross, yes; Snyder, yes. Republicans: Boozman, yes.

CALIFORNIA -- Democrats: Baca, no; Becerra, no; Berman, yes; Capps, yes; Cardoza, yes; Costa, yes; Davis, yes; Eshoo, yes; Farr, yes; Filner, no; Harman, yes; Honda, yes; Lee, no; Lofgren, yes; Matsui, yes; McNerney, yes; Miller, George, yes; Napolitano, no; Pelosi, yes; Richardson, yes; Roybal-Allard, no; Sanchez, Linda, no; Sanchez, Loretta, no; Schiff, no; Sherman, no; Solis, no; Speier, yes; Stark, no; Tauscher, yes; Thompson, no; Waters, yes; Watson, no; Waxman, yes; Woolsey, no. Republicans: Bilbray, no; Bono Mack, yes; Calvert, yes; Campbell, yes; Doolittle, no; Dreier, yes; Gallegly, no; Herger, yes; Hunter, no; Issa, no; Lewis, yes; Lungren, yes; McCarthy, no; McKeon, yes; Miller, Gary, yes; Nunes, no; Radanovich, yes; Rohrabacher, no; Royce, no.

COLORADO -- Democrats: DeGette, yes; Perlmutter, yes; Salazar, no; Udall, no. Republicans: Lamborn, no; Musgrave, no; Tancredo, yes.

CONNECTICUT -- Democrats: Courtney, no; DeLauro, yes; Larson, yes; Murphy, yes. Republicans: Shays, yes.

DELAWARE -- Republicans: Castle, yes.

FLORIDA -- Democrats: Boyd, yes; Brown, Corrine, yes; Castor, no; Hastings, yes; Klein, yes; Mahoney, yes; Meek, yes; Wasserman Schultz, yes; Wexler, yes. Republicans: Bilirakis, no; Brown-Waite, no; Buchanan, no; Crenshaw, yes; Diaz-Balart, L., no; Diaz-Balart, M., no; Feeney, no; Keller, no; Mack, no; Mica, no; Miller, no; Putnam, yes; Ros-Lehtinen, no; Stearns, no; Weldon, yes; Young, no.

GEORGIA -- Democrats: Barrow, no; Bishop, yes; Johnson, no; Lewis, no; Marshall, yes; Scott, no. Republicans: Broun, no; Deal, no; Gingrey, no; Kingston, no; Linder, no; Price, no; Westmoreland, no.

HAWAII -- Democrats: Abercrombie, no; Hirono, no.

IDAHO -- Republicans: Sali, no; Simpson, yes.

ILLINOIS -- Democrats: Bean, yes; Costello, no; Davis, yes; Emanuel, yes; Foster, yes; Gutierrez, yes; Hare, yes; Jackson, no; Lipinski, no; Rush, no; Schakowsky, yes. Republicans: Biggert, no; Johnson, no; Kirk, yes; LaHood, yes; Manzullo, no; Roskam, no; Shimkus, no; Weller, not voting.

INDIANA -- Democrats: Carson, no; Donnelly, yes; Ellsworth, yes; Hill, no; Visclosky, no. Republicans: Burton, no; Buyer, no; Pence, no; Souder, yes.

IOWA -- Democrats: Boswell, yes; Braley, no; Loebsack, yes. Republicans: King, no; Latham, no.

KANSAS -- Democrats: Boyda, no; Moore, yes. Republicans: Moran, no; Tiahrt, no.

KENTUCKY -- Democrats: Chandler, no; Yarmuth, no. Republicans: Davis, no; Lewis, yes; Rogers, yes; Whitfield, no.

LOUISIANA -- Democrats: Cazayoux, no; Jefferson, no; Melancon, yes. Republicans: Alexander, no; Boustany, no; McCrery, yes; Scalise, no.

MAINE -- Democrats: Allen, yes; Michaud, no.

MARYLAND -- Democrats: Cummings, no; Edwards, no; Hoyer, yes; Ruppersberger, yes; Sarbanes, yes; Van Hollen, yes. Republicans: Bartlett, no; Gilchrest, yes.

MASSACHUSETTS -- Democrats: Capuano, yes; Delahunt, no; Frank, yes; Lynch, no; Markey, yes; McGovern, yes; Neal, yes; Olver, yes; Tierney, no; Tsongas, yes.

MICHIGAN -- Democrats: Conyers, no; Dingell, yes; Kildee, yes; Kilpatrick, no; Levin, yes; Stupak, no. Republicans: Camp, yes; Ehlers, yes; Hoekstra, no; Knollenberg, no; McCotter, no; Miller, no; Rogers, no; Upton, yes; Walberg, no.

MINNESOTA -- Democrats: Ellison, yes; McCollum, yes; Oberstar, yes; Peterson, no; Walz, no. Republicans: Bachmann, no; Kline, yes; Ramstad, no.

MISSISSIPPI -- Democrats: Childers, no; Taylor, no; Thompson, no. Republicans: Pickering, yes.

MISSOURI -- Democrats: Carnahan, yes; Clay, no; Cleaver, no; Skelton, yes. Republicans: Akin, no; Blunt, yes; Emerson, yes; Graves, no; Hulshof, no.

MONTANA -- Republicans: Rehberg, no.

NEBRASKA -- Republicans: Fortenberry, no; Smith, no; Terry, no.

NEVADA -- Democrats: Berkley, no. Republicans: Heller, no; Porter, yes.

NEW HAMPSHIRE -- Democrats: Hodes, no; Shea-Porter, no.

NEW JERSEY -- Democrats: Andrews, yes; Holt, yes; Pallone, yes; Pascrell, no; Payne, no; Rothman, no; Sires, yes. Republicans: Ferguson, yes; Frelinghuysen, no; Garrett, no; LoBiondo, no; Saxton, yes; Smith, no.

NEW MEXICO -- Democrats: Udall, no. Republicans: Pearce, no; Wilson, yes.

NEW YORK -- Democrats: Ackerman, yes; Arcuri, yes; Bishop, yes; Clarke, yes; Crowley, yes; Engel, yes; Gillibrand, no; Hall, yes; Higgins, yes; Hinchey, no; Israel, yes; Lowey, yes; Maloney, yes; McCarthy, yes; McNulty, yes; Meeks, yes; Nadler, yes; Rangel, yes; Serrano, no; Slaughter, yes; Towns, yes; Velazquez, yes; Weiner, yes. Republicans: Fossella, yes; King, yes; Kuhl, no; McHugh, yes; Reynolds, yes; Walsh, yes.

NORTH CAROLINA -- Democrats: Butterfield, no; Etheridge, yes; McIntyre, no; Miller, yes; Price, yes; Shuler, no; Watt, yes. Republicans: Coble, no; Foxx, no; Hayes, no; Jones, no; McHenry, no; Myrick, no.

NORTH DAKOTA -- Democrats: Pomeroy, yes.

OHIO -- Democrats: Kaptur, no; Kucinich, no; Ryan, yes; Space, yes; Sutton, no; Wilson, yes. Republicans: Boehner, yes; Chabot, no; Hobson, yes; Jordan, no; LaTourette, no; Latta, no; Pryce, yes; Regula, yes; Schmidt, no; Tiberi, no; Turner, no.

OKLAHOMA -- Democrats: Boren, yes. Republicans: Cole, yes; Fallin, no; Lucas, no; Sullivan, no.

OREGON -- Democrats: Blumenauer, no; DeFazio, no; Hooley, yes; Wu, no. Republicans: Walden, yes.

PENNSYLVANIA -- Democrats: Altmire, no; Brady, yes; Carney, no; Doyle, yes; Fattah, yes; Holden, no; Kanjorski, yes; Murphy, P., yes; Murtha, yes; Schwartz, yes; Sestak, yes. Republicans: Dent, no; English, no; Gerlach, no; Murphy, T., no; Peterson, yes; Pitts, no; Platts, no; Shuster, no.

RHODE ISLAND -- Democrats: Kennedy, yes; Langevin, yes.

SOUTH CAROLINA -- Democrats: Clyburn, yes; Spratt, yes. Republicans: Barrett, no; Brown, yes; Inglis, yes; Wilson, yes.

SOUTH DAKOTA -- Democrats: Herseth Sandlin, no.

TENNESSEE -- Democrats: Cohen, yes; Cooper, yes; Davis, L., no; Gordon, yes; Tanner, yes. Republicans: Blackburn, no; Davis, D., no; Duncan, no; Wamp, no.

TEXAS -- Democrats: Cuellar, no; Doggett, no; Edwards, yes; Gonzalez, yes; Green, A., no; Green, G., no; Hinojosa, yes; Jackson Lee, no; Johnson, E.B., yes; Lampson, no; Ortiz, no; Reyes, yes; Rodriguez, no. Republicans: Barton, no; Brady, yes; Burgess, no; Carter, no; Conaway, no; Culberson, no; Gohmert, no; Granger, yes; Hall, no; Hensarling, no; Johnson, S., no; Marchant, no; McCaul, no; Neugebauer, no; Paul, no; Poe, no; Sessions, yes; Smith, yes; Thornberry, no.

UTAH -- Democrats: Matheson, no. Republicans: Bishop, no; Cannon, yes.

VERMONT -- Democrats: Welch, no.

VIRGINIA -- Democrats: Boucher, yes; Moran, yes; Scott, no. Republicans: Cantor, yes; Davis, yes; Drake, no; Forbes, no; Goode, no; Goodlatte, no; Wittman, no; Wolf, yes.

WASHINGTON -- Democrats: Baird, yes; Dicks, yes; Inslee, no; Larsen, yes; McDermott, yes; Smith, yes. Republicans: Hastings, no; McMorris Rodgers, no; Reichert, no.

WEST VIRGINIA -- Democrats: Mollohan, yes; Rahall, yes. Republicans: Capito, no.

WISCONSIN -- Democrats: Baldwin, yes; Kagen, no; Kind, yes; Moore, yes; Obey, yes. Republicans: Petri, no; Ryan, yes; Sensenbrenner, no.

WYOMING -- Republicans: Cubin, yes.

View all comments that have been posted about this article.

© 2008 The Washington Post Company