» This Story:Read +|Watch +|Listen +| Comments

GOLF

Scoreboards: PGA LPGA | Schedules: PGA LPGA | Statistics: PGA LPGA

Masters Notebook

Tragedy Leads Kim to Seize the Day

Network News

X Profile
View More Activity
By Barry Svrluga
Washington Post Staff Writer
Saturday, April 11, 2009

AUGUSTA, Ga., April 10 -- Anthony Kim woke up Friday morning still stewing about the 75 he shot in his first career round at the Masters. He grabbed a newspaper and found the story about Nick Adenhart, the 22-year-old Los Angeles Angels pitcher who was killed in a car accident late Wednesday night.

This Story
View All Items in This Story
View Only Top Items in This Story

"The last line in the story was, 'You never know what can happen, even at 22,' " Kim said. " 'You have to live every moment of every day like it's your last.' I don't want to go out whining about a three-putt. I want to be happy and I want to enjoy everything that the hard work has gotten me."

With that, Kim set a Masters record by recording 11 birdies in a 7-under-par 65 that not only stood as the low round of Friday's second round, but served to put him back into contention.

"I think that's what made the 11 birdies a lot easier," said the 23-year-old, who is five shots off the lead held by Kenny Perry and Chad Campbell.

McIlroy Kerfuffle

On the 18th tee Friday, 19-year-old Irishman Rory McIlroy was on his way to a solid round. Then came controversy.

McIlroy found the greenside bunker with his approach shot. But his first shot from the sand remained in the bunker. There, McIlroy apparently kicked at the sand -- a violation when a player's ball is still in the hazard that would be a two-stroke penalty. Though McIlroy got the next attempt up-and-down for an apparent triple-bogey and a 73, the rules committee began an investigation.

Late Friday, the rules committee absolved McIlroy of the infraction, but officials said they would have no comment until Saturday. McIlroy's 1-over total of 145 stood, and he will play the weekend in his first Masters. . . .

Padraig Harrington's 73 might have been better had a gust of wind not moved his ball on the 15th green. Harrington addressed a five-footer for birdie, but the wind moved it as much as two feet. Because he had already addressed the ball, he was assessed a one-shot penalty. "The main thing was I holed the putt afterwards," said Harrington, who sits at 2-under. . . .

Gary Player finished his 52nd and final Masters with an 83-161 that was last in the 96-man field. "I leave here in a sad way, obviously," Player said, "but also happy, because I'm blessed to have had a feast."


» This Story:Read +|Watch +|Listen +| Comments
© 2009 The Washington Post Company

Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity