Correction to This Article
The article misstated the tenure of Patricia Zissios as principal of Lyles-Crouch Traditional Academy in Alexandria. She has held the position since 2004, not 1998.

19 Principals Honored With Post Distinguished Leadership Award

Washington Post Staff Report
Thursday, April 30, 2009

Nineteen school principals were honored yesterday as recipients of the Washington Post Distinguished Educational Leadership Awards in a reception hosted by Post Co. Chairman Donald E. Graham.

The recipients, from 17 local school systems, one charter school and one private school, are:

-- Marshall Cartland, principal of Webb Wheatley Educational Center in the District, who has worked for the public school system since 1999;

-- Terry DeCarbo, principal of Independent Hill School and PACE East in Prince William County since 1991;

-- Cynthia Hankin, principal of Deep Run Elementary School in Howard County, who has worked for that school system since 1991;

-- Sarah Hayes Campbell, principal of KIPP DC: Key Academy, a D.C. public charter school, since 2005;

-- Joan Holden, head of school at St. Stephen's and St. Agnes School in Alexandria since 1991;

CONTINUED     1           >

© 2009 The Washington Post Company