washingtonpost.com
Where to Go, What to Do in Pittsburgh

Sunday, September 20, 2009

FLIGHT TIME/DRIVE TIME

About one hour to fly, five to drive

COST

TOTAL $478

Flight $170 | Lodging $258 | Meals $50

GETTING THERE

US Airways has nonstop flights from Reagan National, United from Dulles and Continental from BWI Marshall. Fares start at $170 round trip. By car from the Beltway, take Interstate 70 west to the Pennsylvania Turnpike Exit 57 (Monroeville-Pittsburgh), then follow US 376/Route 22 to downtown.

WHERE TO STAY

Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, 107 Sixth St., 412-562-1200, http://www.marriott.com. A downtown hotel with great riverfront view from some rooms, which start at $219.

The Priory, 614 Pressley St., 412-231-3338, http://www.thepriory.com. A former convent on the North Shore. Rooms start at $129.

Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University Center Oakland, 3315 Hamlet St., 412-681-1000, http://www.pittsburghhamptoninn.com. The name says it all: smack in the middle of Pitt's Oakland campus. Rooms start at $169.

WHERE TO EAT

Monterey Pub, 1227 Monterey St., 412-322-6535, http://www.montereypub.com. A neighborhood hangout on a gentrified street. Entrees $6.95-$12.95. Closed Sunday.

Piccolo Forno, 3801 Butler St., 412-622-0111, http://www.piccolo-forno.com. Great pizza, pasta and Euro-specialties. BYOB. Entrees $10-$16.

Primanti Brothers, 48 18th St., 412-263-2142, http://www.primantibrothers.com. Open 24 hours. Sandwiches from $4.99-$6.79.

Pamela's Diner, 60 21st St., 412-281-6366, http://www.pamelasrestaurants.com. This diner's crepe-style hotcakes are reportedly President Obama's favorites. Entrees $3-$8.

WHAT TO DO

Andy Warhol Museum, 117 Sandusky St., 412-237-8300, http://www.warhol.org. Six stories of Warhol mania. Open Tuesday through Sunday 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. $15 adults.

Children's Museum of Pittsburgh, 10 Children's Way, 412-322-5058, http://www.pittsburghkids.org. Prides itself on pleasing preteens as well as toddlers. Open Monday through Saturday 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Sunday noon to 5 p.m. $11, $10 kids older than 2.

Mattress Factory, 500 Sampsonia Way, 412-231-3169, http://www.mattress.org. Always quiet, always intriguing. Open Tuesday to Saturday 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Sundays 1 to 5 p.m. $10 adults.

Carnegie Museums of Art and Natural History, 4400 Forbes Ave., 412-622-3131, http://www.carnegiemuseums.org. Superb permanent art collection, plus Egyptian mummies and the giant dinosaur exhibit. Open Tuesday through Saturday 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Thursdays 10 a.m. to 8 p.m.; Sunday noon to 5 p.m. $15 adults.

Arsenal Bowl, 212 44th and Butler streets, 412-683-5992, http://www.arsenalbowl.com. Two words: bowling shoes. Weekend nights are most popular.

Thunderbird Cafe, 4023 Butler St., 412-682-0177, http://www.thunderbirdcafe.net. National touring acts and strong local bands. Ticket prices vary, but generally less than $20.

FOR MORE INFORMATION

http://www.visitpittsburgh.com

-- C.H.O.

View all comments that have been posted about this article.

© 2009 The Washington Post Company