Looking back on Second Readings with The Post's Jonathan Yardley

  Enlarge Photo    
Friday, January 1, 2010

Following are the books that have been discussed in Jonathan Yardley's Second Reading series since its inception on Feb. 20, 2003. They are listed in order of appearance. All the reviews are available at http://www.washingtonpost.com/bookworld.

-- "H.M. Pulham, Esq.," by John P. Marquand.

-- "The Daughter of Time," by Josephine Tey.

-- "W.C. Fields: His Follies and Fortunes," by Robert Lewis Taylor.

-- "The Autumn of the Patriarch," by Gabriel García Márquez.

-- "Happy All the Time," by Laurie Colwin.

-- "And Then We Heard the Thunder," by John Oliver Killens.

-- "Reveille in Washington," by Margaret Leach.

-- "The Twelve Caesars," by Suetonius, translated by Robert Graves.

-- "Cheaper by the Dozen," by Frank B. Gilbreth Jr. and Ernestine Gilbreth Carey.

-- "Lucky Jim," by Kingsley Amis.

-- "The Clock Winder," by Anne Tyler.

CONTINUED     1                 >

© 2010 The Washington Post Company