A look at the No. 2 overall picks from the past 10 years of the NBA draft

Saturday, May 1, 2010; D06

In the past 10 years, Kevin Durant is the only No. 2 overall selection to make an all-star team, while several others have been duds. Despite an inability to live up to lofty expectations in Miami, Michael Beasley has actually been one of the more productive No. 2 picks.

2000: Stromile Swift, Vancouver Grizzlies

In a weak draft that produced just three all-stars, Swift averaged 8.4 points in nine seasons. Already out of the league.

2001: Tyson Chandler, Chicago Bulls

Has become productive serving as a rebounding and shot-blocking presence, but has dealt with injuries the past two seasons.

2002: Jay Williams, Chicago Bulls

After uneven rookie season, Williams's career was curtailed by a horrific motorcycle accident.

2003: Darko Milicic, Detroit Pistons

Milicic is an NBA journeyman and unmitigated bust. Seven players selected after him have been all-stars, but he owns a championship ring.

2004: Emeka Okafor, Charlotte Bobcats

Okafor has had a solid but undistinguished career, averaging 13.3 points and 10.3 rebounds. Now with Hornets, he has never been to playoffs.

2005: Marvin Williams, Atlanta Hawks

Averaging 11.9 points in five seasons, but selection is considered a blunder since all-stars Deron Williams and Chris Paul were taken immediately after him.

2006: LaMarcus Aldridge, Portland Trail Blazers (via Chicago)

Averaging 16 points and 7.1 rebounds over his career, but is the second-best player from a relatively weak draft after teammate Brandon Roy.

2007: Kevin Durant, Seattle SuperSonics

An emerging superstar, Durant led Oklahoma City to the postseason after becoming the youngest scoring champion in NBA history.

2008: Michael Beasley, Miami Heat

Talented scorer is averaging 14.8 points per game, but off-court troubles and inability to mesh with Dwyane Wade could lead to exit.

2009: Hasheem Thabeet, Memphis Grizzlies

Became the highest draft pick to get sent down to NBA Developmental League.

© 2010 The Washington Post Company