Correction to This Article
An earlier edition identified the winner for audio news documentary as J.J. Green for his story on a U.S. military mission in Afghanistan. The correct winner is Darci Marchese for her story on wounded veterans and has been corrected below.

WTOP wins 4 national awards for broadcast excellence; WJLA takes 1 prize

By Paul Farhi
Washington Post Staff Writer
Tuesday, June 15, 2010; 7:14 PM

All-news radio station WTOP of Washington has won four national Edward R. Murrow Awards, which honor excellence in broadcast journalism.

WTOP won among large-market stations in the audio feature reporting category, for a piece by Brennan Haselton about the demise of the Sony Walkman; in audio news documentary, for a story about wounded veterans reported by Darci Marchese; in audio sports reporting, for a report about the D.C. Divas women's pro football team by Michelle Basch; and in the 30-minute newscast category, for broadcasts anchored by Mike Moss and Bruce Alan.

WTOP was the only news organization in the competition to win more than two awards.

Among TV stations, WJLA (Channel 7) was the sole local winner. Its coverage of the Metro train crash last year won for video breaking news among large-market stations.

The awards, presented by the Radio Television Digital News Association of Washington since 1971, are named for the legendary CBS newsman. The organization will announce the full list of winners Wednesday morning.

© 2010 The Washington Post Company