Page 2 of 2   <      

Alex Ovechkin doesn't win Hart Trophy as league MVP, but is named players' association most outstanding player

A look through two-time NHL MVP Alex Ovechkin's five exhilarating seasons as a Washington Capital.

Boudreau was also confounded by Ovechkin losing the Hart. Pittsburgh's Sidney Crosby finished a distant third in the MVP voting with 20 first-place ballots.

"I can't figure out anything here. It's like figuring out referees," Boudreau said. "I know Sedin did a great job. But we had the best team in the regular season and we don't have the guy who wins the Hart or best defenseman."

Ovechkin won the NHLPA award for the third consecutive season, joining only Wayne Gretzky and Guy Lafleur as the only players to accomplish the three-peat. Previously known as the Lester B. Pearson Award, the trophy was renamed this season. It also marked the 14th time the Hart and NHLPA's trophy went to different players.

Asked which one means more to him, Ovechkin did not hesitate.

"By the players," he said. "It's the most important thing. You play against the guys."

Other award winners included Buffalo's Tyler Myers winning Calder Trophy as rookie of the year; the Sabres' Ryan Miller the Vezina as top goaltender; Detroit's Pavel Datsyuk his third consecutive Selke Trophy as top defensive forward; and Tampa Bay's Martin St. Louis the Lady Byng for sportsmanship.

Phoenix's Dave Tippett won the Jack Adams Award as coach of the year. Boudreau finished 10th in the voting despite his team finishing first overall in the league.

Boudreau said all of the Capitals' disappointments Wednesday will serve as motivation.

"Everybody likes to win," he said. "We've gotten to the point where we've raised the bar very high for our team and our organization. When we're not the best, then we know we have to be better next season. When I congratulated Alex, he said to me, 'I only want one trophy.' "

Awards notes: Ovechkin became the first player in history to be voted a first-team all-star in each of his first five seasons. Green also earned the distinction for the second straight season.

<       2

© 2010 The Washington Post Company