New Mexico election results 2010: Susana Martinez defeats Diane Denish to take statehouse

Washington Post Staff
Monday, November 1, 2010; 5:15 PM

The New Mexico governor's race came to its conclusion late on election night. As AP reported:

Republican Susana Martinez has won the New Mexico governor's race, making history as the first Hispanic woman to become a state's chief executive. The 51-year-old Martinez defeated Democrat Diane Denish to also become New Mexico's first female governor.

In New Mexico's 1st District Democrat Martin Heinrich defeated Republican Johnathan Barela, while in the 2nd District Republican Steve Pearce defeated Harry Teague.

In the 3rd District Democrat Ben Lujan handily defeated Republican Tom Mullins to take the open House seat there.

PostPolitics previewed the New Mexico 2010 election:

The governor's mansion in Santa Fe looks likely to change hands, as Dona Ana County District Attorney Susana Martinez (R) is considered the favorite for the state's top job over Lt. Gov. Diane Denish (D).

Two of the state's Democratic members of Congress -- Reps. Martin Heinrich and Harry Teague -- face competitive reelection contests. Heinrich appears to be the safer of the two incumbents, narrowly leading Republican Jon Barela in the Albuquerque-based 1st District. Teague has a more difficult task, as he seeks to hold off former representative Steve Pearce (R) from reclaiming the sprawling, conservative-leaning 2nd District seat.

More from PostPolitics

Capaign 101: Track every race nationwide

Crystall ball: Expert predictions for Election 2010

Phil Rucker: : 7 states in 7 days listening to what voters think

Eilperin: What the election means for the global climate change debate

CONTRIBUTORS: The state previews were written and compiled by Washington Post staff writers Chris Cillizza, Dan Balz, Amy Gardner, Shailagh Murray, Paul Kane, Aaron Blake, Felicia Sonmez, Ben Pershing and Perry Bacon Jr. PHOTOGRAPHS: The photographs were taken by The Washington Post, Associated Press, Reuters and Getty Images photographers.

© 2010 The Washington Post Company