Rhode Island election results 2010: Lincoln Chafee wins three-way race for governor

Washington Post staff
Monday, November 1, 2010; 6:10 PM

The Rhode Island governor's race came to its conclusion late election night. AP reported:

Former U.S. Sen. Lincoln Chafee (CHAY'-fee) has become the first independent elected Rhode Island governor. The former Republican defeated Democratic General Treasurer Frank Caprio, Republican John Robitaille (ROH'-bih-teye) and Moderate Party founder Ken Block on Tuesday to succeed term-limited Republican Gov. Don Carcieri (kuh-CHEER'-ee).

Democratic candidates Jim Langevin in the 2nd District and David Cicilline in the 1st District won their respective House races as well.

PostPolitics previewed the Rhode Island 2010 election:

The governor's race in Rhode Island got a late-breaking dose of color in October, when Democrat Frank Caprio, the state's general treasurer, suggested President Obama could "shove it" because he declined to endorse Caprio. Obama withheld his backing as a courtesy to Lincoln Chafee, the former Republican senator who endorsed Obama in 2008 and is running for governor as an independent. The three-way contest between Caprio, Chafee and Republican John Robitaille is a tight one, with Chafee considered the narrow favorite.

In the 1st District, which is being vacated by retiring Democratic Rep. Patrick Kennedy, some Republicans have promoted the idea that state Rep. John Loughlin could score a GOP upset against Providence Mayor David Cicilline. But Cicilline appears likely to keep the seat in Democratic hands.

Full election preview for Rhode Island and all 50 states here.

More from PostPolitics:

An interactive map of congressional races for the 2010 midterm elections.

Philip Rucker reported from seven states in seven days in the final week of the campaign.

A sortable chart of campaign spending by groups and campaigns.

CONTRIBUTORS: The state previews were written and compiled by Washington Post staff writers Chris Cillizza, Dan Balz, Amy Gardner, Shailagh Murray, Paul Kane, Aaron Blake, Felicia Sonmez, Ben Pershing and Perry Bacon Jr.

© 2010 The Washington Post Company