Nevada election results 2010: Harry Reid defeats Sharron Angle to retain seat

Washington Post Staff
Monday, November 1, 2010; 6:27 PM

The Nevada Senate election was announced late in the evening after the polls closed. As Amy Gardner reported:

Senate Majority Leader Harry M. Reid of Nevada beat back a scrappy challenge from tea party favorite Sharron Angle, offering Democrats a rare and high-profile victory on an otherwise difficult night for Democrats across the nation.

The Nevada governor's race was also announced by AP, becoming one of a growing number of states to vote in minority candidates:

In New Mexico, Susana Martinez was elected as the nation's first female Hispanic governor. Nikki Haley, whose parents were born in India, will be the first woman governor in South Carolina, and Brian Sandoval became Nevada's first Hispanic governor.

PostPolitics previewed the Nevada 2010 election:

Reid is struggling to win a fifth term. His best hope may be his unorthodox Republican opponent, who has advocated ending Social Security and acidly instructed Reid to "man up" in their one debate. But Nevadans like Angle's firecracker spirit. One wild card: the option for voters to select "none of the above" on their ballots.

In the 3rd District, freshman Rep. Dina Titus (D) is struggling against former GOP state Sen. Joe Heck, a physician who has kept his distance from Angle. Titus, an outspoken former professor, is popular with the Democratic base, but Heck could lure Republicans who are reluctant to support the tea party star.

More from PostPolitics

Campaign cash: Who's spending where in 2010

Rucker: 7 states in 7 days listening to what voters have to say

Crystal ball: Expert predictions for Election 2010

Ezra Klein: How the GOP can affect health-care overhaul

CONTRIBUTORS: The state previews were written and compiled by Washington Post staff writers Chris Cillizza, Dan Balz, Amy Gardner, Shailagh Murray, Paul Kane, Aaron Blake, Felicia Sonmez, Ben Pershing and Perry Bacon Jr. PHOTOGRAPHS: The photographs were taken by The Washington Post, Associated Press, Reuters and Getty Images photographers.

© 2010 The Washington Post Company