Wisconsin election results 2010: Russ Feingold defeated by Ron Johnson, loses reelection bid

Washington Post staff
Tuesday, November 2, 2010; 10:24 PM

Sen. Russell Feingold (D) was defeated by businessman Ron Johnson (R) in the Wisconsin senate election.

The G.O.P. wave has reached Wisconsin. A dramatic swing among independent voters helped derail Wisconsin Democrat Russ Feingold's bid for a fourth term against Republican businessman Ron Johnson.

Republican Scott Walker defeated Tom Barrett to win the Wisconsin governors race. As AP reported:

Walker won on Tuesday despite a strong push by the White House to keep the office in Democratic control. President Barack Obama campaigned and raised money for Barrett. Walker becomes the first Republican governor in Wisconsin since Scott McCallum in 2002.

PostPolitics previewed the Wisconsin 2010 Election:

A sense of economic pessimism in the Badger State is helping Republicans up and down the ticket.

Sen. Russell Feingold (D), long assumed to be safe, is now in danger of losing the seat he has held for 18 years. Businessman Ron Johnson (R) snatched the outsider mantle from Feingold, and the incumbent has failed to win it back.

Full election preview for Wisconsin and all 50 states here.

More from PostPolitics:

An interactive map of congressional races for the 2010 midterm elections.

Philip Rucker reported from seven states in seven days in the final week of the campaign.

A sortable chart of campaign spending by groups and campaigns.

CONTRIBUTORS: The state previews were written and compiled by Washington Post staff writers Chris Cillizza, Dan Balz, Amy Gardner, Shailagh Murray, Paul Kane, Aaron Blake, Felicia Sonmez, Ben Pershing and Perry Bacon Jr.

© 2010 The Washington Post Company