Obama to award Medal of Freedom to 15, including investor Buffett

By Anne E. Kornblut
Washington Post Staff Writer
Wednesday, November 17, 2010; 5:55 PM

President Obama will award the Medal of Freedom to billionaire investor Warren Buffett, one of 15 recipients who will be given the country's highest civilian honor, the White House said.

Buffett, who sits on the board of The Washington Post, has been an adviser to Obama since the presidential campaign. The New York Times on Wednesday published his "thank-you" to the federal government for rescuing the economy during the financial crisis.

Among the other Medal of Freedom recipients will be former president George H.W. Bush; German Chancellor Angela Merkel; Rep. John Lewis (D-Georgia); poet Maya Angelou; artist Jasper Johns; cellist Yo Yo Ma; former Boston Celtic Bill Russell; former St. Louis Cardinals outfielder and first baseman Stan Musial; and labor chief John Sweeney.

Also receiving the award will be Sylvia Mendez, a civil rights activist; former ambassador to Ireland Jean Kennedy Smith; Holocaust survivor Gerda Weissmann Klein; and John H. Adams, the co-founder of the National Resources Defense Council. One man will receive the award posthumously: Tom Little, an optometrist killed in Afghanistan by the Taliban in August while on a humanitarian mission.

© 2010 The Washington Post Company