Politico cartoonist wins prestigious Berryman Award

  Enlarge Photo    
By Michael Cavna
Washington Post Staff Writer
Tuesday, November 23, 2010

The more Politico's Matt Wuerker hammers politicians in his editorial cartoons, the more he continues to pile up the hardware.

The National Press Foundation announced Monday that Wuerker has won the prestigious Clifford K. and James T. Berryman Award for editorial cartooning.

The win continues a stellar year for Wuerker, who previously was a runner-up for the Berryman: In April, he accepted the Herblock Prize and for the second straight year was named a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize.

"I'm thrilled to get the Berryman Award. I share it with all the other ink-stained wretches out there doing such great work as political cartoonists," Wuerker tells The Washington Post's Comic Riffs. "I only wish more of them were as fortunate as me to get to work with such smart, trusting editors like mine here at Politico. It's a dream perch for a cartoonist."

According to the judges, "Matt's drawings blend satire, irony and the right amount of anger to skewer the politically powerful of all persuasions."

Receiving honorable mention for this year's Berryman were: The Post's Tom Toles; Daryl Cagle of MSNBC; and Jimmy Margulies of the Record (New Jersey).

The Berryman comes with a $2,500 prize; honorable mention is worth $500.

The Berryman judges were Tom Rosenstiel, director of the Project for Excellence in Journalism; Susan Swain, co-president of C-SPAN; Karen Doyne, director of the Crisis Management at Burson-Marsteller; Kevin Goldberg, media attorney with Fletcher, Heald and Hildreth; and Steve Breen, the San Diego Union-Tribune cartoonist who won the Berryman three years ago.

The awards ceremony will be next March in Washington at the National Press Foundation's annual dinner.

© 2010 The Washington Post Company