Post Magazine: The Challenge for TJ

Hosted by Tyler Currie
Special to The Washington Post
Monday, August 8, 2005; 1:00 PM

Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology may be a magnet, but it's having a hard time attracting enough minorities.

Tyler Currie, whose article about the attempt of eighth-graders Miguel Bustamante and Kiara Savage to gain admittance to Virginia's most prestigious public school appeared in yesterday's Washington Post Magazine , was online Monday, Aug. 8 to field questions and comments.

Tyler Currie is a Magazine contributing writer.

Tyler Currie: Hello Magazine readers. We have ourselves a real lighting rod of an issue today, admissions at Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology, which is arguably the best high school in the country. Let's get started

Washington, DC: Hello,

I graduated from McLean High School when Elizabeth Lodal was principal. As I read the article yesterday, I reflected on my high school years and college years. I often think that pressure applied to kids is unwarranted. Look -- no, I didn't go to Harvard, Yale, or even UVA. But am I a loser?; Am I begging on the streets?; No!; The notion that college, or even high school has some kind of do or die fatality is just plain stupid. It's tiring, and to be quite honest, is plain insulting.

Tyler Currie: Amen! Life is a lot richer than the framed degrees tacked to an office wall.

But don't deny that formal education is surpassingly important if you want to have choices in life. This is probably more ture now than ever before. It'd be great if a diploma from the School of Life was good as gold for everyone. But it's not. I think the great demand for slots at TJ reflects this understanding.

Washington, D.C.: Why would you say TJ is underrepresented by minorities when there's ample representation from Asians? If asians can make it to the top schools on merit and not affirmative action, why can't other minorities?