Virginia Gubernatorial Election

Mark J. Rozell
Professor of Public Policy at George Mason University
Wednesday, November 9, 2005 11:00 AM

Mark J. Rozell, professor of public policy at George Mason University, was online Wednesday, Nov. 9, at 11 a.m. ET to examine the campaign tactics of Virginia's gubernatorial candidates leading up to Tuesday's election.

From The Post:

Campaign Journal

Virginia Elections Coverage

The transcript follows.

Mark J. Rozell: Welcome, I am Happy to answer your questions on the Virginia campaign. I am a professor of public policy at George Mason University and have written about Virginia politics over the past two decades.

Arlington, Va.: Would you say that Kaine's victory was more a reaction to Kilgore's nasty, mean-spirited campaign, or a reaction to the GOP's problems on the national arena? What lessons do you think Democrats and Republicans should take from these results as they look to 2006 and 2008?

Mark J. Rozell: Good questions. In part, the public rejected the tone of Kilgore's ad campaign. I think the crucial turning point was the death penalty ads. The editorial response to Kilgore's ads was uniformly critical. The polls started to show right after a shift to Kaine. And later polls said that most voters were disgusted with the negative tone of the campaign and largely blamed Kilgore and not Kaine for this situation. In fairness, I think both campaigns resorted to some ugly tactics, so that seems to be the condition of electoral politics these days.

I'm not sure this portends anything for 2006 necessarily. Indeed, there was a negative reaction to Bush's visit and the current situation of the Bush presidency, but things can change a lot in one year, so 2006 will be decided on a lot of other factors. I'll have more to say on this topic with other questions asking the same!