Transcript

Prelude to Disaster : The Making of DHS

Susan B. Glasser and Michael Grunwald
Washington Post Staff Writers
Friday, December 23, 2005; 11:00 AM

Washington Post staff writers Susan B. Glasser and Michael Grunwald were online Friday, Dec. 23, at 11 a.m. ET to discuss their series on the Department of Homeland Security.

The transcript follows.

Michael Grunwald: Thanks for reading, everyone. Susan's just on her way in. There are a lot of great questions, so we'll get started.

Washington, D.C.: I am a career FEMA manager and was overjoyed to read your story this morning because, finally, the media got the story right. I have been in meetings with Mike Brown since 2001, and can personally attest to his frustration with the neutering of FEMA and the raiding of our very limited funding by the DHS bureaucracy. Whatever his faults, Mike Brown was in love with FEMA's mission. He privately called himself a "bleeding heart conservative". If there's one criticism of him I can make, it's that he was loyal to a fault to President Bush who knew what was happening and, by not stopping it, supported the looting of FEMA. Mike is to be commended for his candor - he has always been open and candid - but, to this day, he won't say the obvious about the President's responsibility in turning FEMA into a national disaster.