Transcript

Ask The Post

Network News

X Profile
View More Activity
Rajiv Chandrasekaran
Assistant Managing Editor, Continuous News
Wednesday, March 15, 2006; 12:00 PM

This Week: Rajiv Chandrasekaran , assistant managing editor, Continuous News, was online Wednesday, March 15, at noon ET to discuss The Post's online initiatives, including how the newspaper publishes breaking news on washingtonpost.com.

The transcript follows.

Rajiv Chandrasekaran: Good day everyone. It's great to be here chatting with you today about The Post's continuous news operation. I'm looking forward to answering your questions, so fire away...

Washington, D.C.: Wow. I've been working in journalism and publishing for 25 years and I have never heard of "continuous news" until today. Would you please explain what that is?

Rajiv Chandrasekaran: Continuous news, quite simply, is what we call the staff of reporters and editors who are responsible for getting breaking news on washingtonpost.com. When news happens, we try to get our beat reporters to bang out a quick story for post.com. In some cases, though, our reporters are unable to file quickly. Perhaps they are on Air Force One or knee-deep in floodwaters or riding in a Humvee in Iraq. In those cases, reporters on The Post's Continuous News Desk jump in and write stories for post.com. We try to get our stories up as quickly as possible while ensuring that they are fair, accurate and thoroughly reported -- just like stories that appear in the ink-on-paper version of The Post.

New York, N.Y.: What is the future for reader created content and how will you manage it effectively?