Transcript: Wednesday, April 19, 2006 at 2 p.m. ET

Update Your Space

Network News

X Profile
View More Activity
Maxwell Gillingham-Ryan
Interior designer and author
Wednesday, April 19, 2006; 2:00 PM

Maxwell Gillingham-Ryan is an interior designer and author of "Apartment Therapy: The Eight-Step Home Cure" (Bantam, 2006). In 2004, Maxwell launched the design blog Apartmenttherapy.com .

He has been featured in prominent publications such as The New York Times, New York Magazine, and The Wall Street Journal. Maxwell was also a guest expert on HGTV's 'Mission: Organization' and currently appears on 'Small Space, Big Style.'

For advice on apartment searching and rental-related issues, check out our special feature: Think Smart: Apartment Hunting Made Easy .

The transcript follows below.

Maxwell Gillingham Ryan: Hello, everybody! This is my first time doing this and I can't think of a better way to combine a Q and A session with my blogging at www.apartmenttherapy.com, where I answer questions each day (and readers do too). If you have more questions than I can get to please send me an e-mail (pictures help) and I will answer it there.

As you may know, my first book,

Apartment Therapy: The Eight-Step Home Cure,

just came out a few weeks ago and it is the fruit of my work as an apartment therapist in NYC for the past five years. If you are interested in giving your home a makeover in eight weeks, I urge you to check it out.

We are also holding an online Group Cure at our website where people can share their experiences and pull off all their projects together. You can still join that as well.

Now, let's get to the questions.

Avalon, Calif.: Do you advise the use of partitions to separate sleeping area from the rest of the space a small studio apartment?

Maxwell Gillingham Ryan: Yes. I consider the sleeping area or bedroom to be the most sacred part of the home as well as the place you spend the greatest amount of time (even if it's sleeping).