Fashion Trend? Bejeweled Cockroaches

jewel roach art

Network News

X Profile
View More Activity
Jared Gold
Fashion Designer
Friday, April 21, 2006; 2:00 PM

A Giant Madagascar Hissing Cockroach brooch. Isn't that what you really want?

It is what some people want. Since introduced in October of last year, 25 are sold weekly for $60 in-store and $80 on-line at Black Chandelier , a unique clothing store in Salt Lake City founded by designer Jared Gold. The live bugs are studded with Austrian Swarovski crystal, accessorized with a leash set and are ready to "wear."

But is it cruel? How long do they live? Are the PETA folks upset?

Fashion designer Jared Gold was online Friday, April 21, at 2 p.m. ET to answer these questions and discuss his most talked about accessory for spring.

Submit your questions and comments before or during the discussion.

A transcript follows.

Jared Gold: Greetings everyone! My name is Jared Gold, and I am a clothing designer trained in Los Angeles and currently operating out of Salt Lake City, Utah. I have been designing clothes and showing my collections in New York and LA Fashion Weeks for eight years. My current collection 'Glinka'--kind of a Russian-Psychedelic-Space-Witch theme, required a little "something extra" to push it over-the-top; hence, the creation of the Live Jeweled Cockroach Brooch. I've got my clothing stores in Salt Lake City, Los Angeles, for the time being. We are opening a new store in Salt Lake City next month. The 'Cockroach Brooches' have drawn a lot of attention to my designs and can be see and purchased at blackchandelier.com.

Washington, D.C.: How did this idea of live roach jewelry come to you?

Jared Gold: You know, the whole thing where we make collections of clothes and this came to me. You know, it is my job to come up with 'new' things like this. It's what I do.

Chantilly, Va.: What kind of people would buy/wear such things?