Transcript

Ask The Post

Peter Perl
Assistant Managing Editor, Training and Development
Wednesday, May 24, 2006; 12:00 PM

This Week: The Post's assistant managing editor for training and development, Peter Perl , was online Wednesday, May 24, at noon ET to answer your questions about The Washington Post's hiring, promotion and staff development.

The transcript follows.

Peter Perl: Welcome to washingtonpost.com. We have quite a few questions from around the country & I will try to reach them all within our hour. Thanks for joining us.

Chicago, Ill.: Hi,

I'm a journalism grad student at Northwestern. How does The Washington Post train its young reporters?

Peter Perl: We train them largely on-the-job by matching them up with editors who have the experience and teaching ability to point them in the right direction, answer their questions and edit their copy. We also pair them up with "professional partners" who are veteran reporters who help them adjust to the environment of a large and demanding newspaper. In individual cases, we also match them with a more experienced reporter-mentor to help them on a particular aspect of the craft.

Cambridge, Mass.: Peter,

For young reporters interested in ultimately obtaining a job at The Post, what kind of advice would you offer? What kind of work are you looking for? I'd like to know specifically what kind of clips or work experience you might be looking out for.

Peter Perl: Generally speaking, we are looking for people who have at least three to five years of professional experience and who show spark, energy, creativity, and reporting & writing ability. We are also looking for diversity in all forms, not just racially & ethnically, but in diversity of backgrounds, interests and skills.

Silver Spring, Md.: Hello Mr. Perl: