washingtonpost.com
Security Fix Live

Brian Krebs
Security Fix Blogger
Friday, May 26, 2006 11:00 AM

Security Fix blogger Brian Krebs was online to answer your questions about the latest computer security threats and offer ways to protect yourself and your personal information.

A transcript follows.

Brian Krebs: Hello everyone, and thanks for joining us for Security Fix Live. I am duly impressed with the number of questions we've received so far, given the long holiday weekend ahead of us, but I've managed to come up with some answers to a few of them while I was waiting for this chat to officially start, so feel free to submit any other questions you may have. I'll do my best to get to them in turn.

Melbourne, Australia: Great column, Brian. Keep it up. My question, at some point Microsoft managed to install .Net framework and according to events log .Net is onto my computer every morning when I boot up. I am not a web developer, just a bloke (intermediate level, I suppose)who is diligent about regular security maintenance (Norton Anti-Virus, Ad Aware, Spybot, Spyware Blaster, Windows Defender), but I seem to have acquired Microsoft .Net Framework as a user. If I uninstall, will I lose anything? They claim it facilitates updates and the like. Thanks.

Brian Krebs: Thanks, Melbourne. .Net is used by some Web-facing programs to increase their functionality, usability and general gee-wizziness. A lot of popular RSS readers require that you have .Net installed before you can install them, as do other Web-interactive programs. It could be that some program you installed had .Net bundled in with it. I wouldn't worry too much about having .Net on your machine: Just make sure it is patched like all of the rest of your Windows apps. A visit to the Microsoft Update site (http://update.microsoft.com) should clear up any questions on that front. Thanks for your question.