Transcript: Friday, June 30, 2006, 2:00 p.m. ET

Intern to Employee

Network News

X Profile
View More Activity
Peter Stephens
Managing Director, The Washington Center
Friday, June 30, 2006; 2:00 PM

Avoid: sweaty palms, white socks, long-winded answers and little white lies to clinch a new and better job. You can learn more about every stage of the job hunt, from recruiting to networking to transitioning to a new career, by checking in with our Hiring Squad

this week for articles, tools, live discussions and more.

Peter Stephens has worked to place thousands of interns in Washington area offices through the nonprofit Washington Center. His explicit goal is to set up students for successful careers. Find out what course he recommends for part-timers and unpaid workers who yearn for a real title and a full-time job.

Peter was online providing advice for workers who want to turn an internship into a full-time gig.

The transcript follows below.

Washington, D.C.: I'm an intern in a public relations firm. All I do is fax and file, answer phones and do the daily lunch run for the senior partners. No real public relations experience that I was promised. I'm not allowed in meetings because they discuss "proprietary" information, I'm told. I've had a conversation with the hiring manager and she said I'm having the "experience" of seeing how the office "works." But once the summer is over, my clerical skills will be honed. I'll know nothing about public relations. It's unpaid, so do I stay or bail, and do something else to make some cash, even if it's not in this field?

Peter Stephens:  Good afternoon! Ask for access to materials/information that is not considered protected. Also ask if you can sign a waiver that will allow you to view more sensitive information. If you are not being paid, you need to access how long the training is, and then have an exit strategy.