Transcript

Comics: Meet the Artist

Network News

X Profile
View More Activity
Tony Cochran
Cartoonist, "Agnes"
Friday, September 1, 2006; 1:00 PM

Join Washington Post Comics page editor Suzanne Tobin online once each month to discuss the comics pages. From artists to writers to editors, Tobin is joined by a different guest for each show. This week, Tobin was by " Agnes " cartoonist Tony Cochran to discuss his eight-week tryout in The Post.

Tony Cochran: Hello everybody! It looks like I'm all alone here. I've never done this before, interview myself I mean. Suzanne is having trouble getting online. I will try to be easy on myself.

My name is Tony Cochran and I do the comic strip Agnes which has been in the Washington Post for the last 8 weeks. I will be the first to agree they were the most hilarious comic strips I ever read. I would like to thank the Washington Post for letting me conduct such a one sided interview.

Philadelphia, Pa.: How long have you been drawing "Agnes"? How did you come up with your characters? Did you have cartoon characters when you were in school and, if so, do any of them have any resemblance to your existing characters?