Recovering at Walter Reed

Network News

X Profile
View More Activity
Dana Priest and Anne V. Hull
Washington Post Staff Writers
Tuesday, February 20, 2007; 12:00 PM

On Tuesday, Feb. 20 at noon ET, reporters Dana Priest and Anne V. Hull discussed their stories describing the care and conditions at Walter Reed Army Medical Center for recovering Iraq war veterans.

Army Fixing Patients' Housing (Feb. 20, 2007)

Hospital Investigates Former Aid Chief (Feb. 20, 2007)

The Hotel Aftermath (Feb. 19, 2007)

Soldiers Face Neglect, Frustration At Army's Top Medical Facility (Feb. 18, 2007)

The transcript follows:

Dana Priest and Anne Hull: Greetings all, Dana and Anne here. Thanks for joining and let's get started.

Anonymous: First, your work has already yielded important responses from the Army. Well done.

Second, how can those of us interested in serving as patient advocates become involved? I am a retired Army officer with the background and interest in helping these vets deal with the medical bureaucracy you highlighted - obtaining benefits, finding resources for them, and getting them to appointments on time etc.

Fred

Dana Priest and Anne Hull: We've been swamped with people wanting to know how they can help, from those with experience in Army systems to others wanting to donate golf carts to shuttle the wounded around the Walter Reed campus. Walter Reed has also been besieged with people wanting to help. Stay tuned. Call your congressman.

Bethesda, Md.: Congratulations on another great investigative piece. It sounds like you really lit a fire under the brass. I know it's early days yet, but does it seem to you like they are intending to respond adequately or are they just doing some cosmetic brushing up?