Life at Work Live

Network News

X Profile
View More Activity
Amy Joyce
Washington Post columnist
Tuesday, April 17, 2007; 11:00 AM

Washington Post columnist Amy Joyce writes Life at Work on Sundays in the Business section and appears online every Tuesday. In her weekly chat she gives advice on how to handle social and professional situations.

An archive of Amy's Life at Work columns is available online.

Find more career-related news and advice in our Jobs section.

The transcript follows below.

Amy Joyce: Good morning all.

A somber day in our area and throughout the nation. Sort of puts the loud cube mate issue in perspective, no?

The questions are rolling in, so let's get started.

Chicago, Ill.: I'm a young professional, recently out of college, and I work for a fairly large nonprofit organization. There are very often large after work happy hours organized by members of my department. I'm not a big drinker, but there is often a lot of pressure to come with them, and people make comments if I duck out after only a couple of drinks. People also often make comments the next day if I don't go at all. Recently a coworker talked to me about how people who don't go out after work get "a reputation." She was talking about someone else, but I'm afraid she was trying to send me a message. How would you suggest I handle this?

Amy Joyce: Instead of thinking about people's comments, think about how you might be able to benefit from these happy hours, complete with a club soda and lime, thank you very much. Since you're recently out of college, these happy hours could be a good time for you to network, meet new people, talk about your goals. From that, you might get a mentor (or several) and your manager might remember how you mentioned at last week's happy hour that you wanted to work on Project X.