washingtonpost.com
Career Track Live
Advice for Young Professionals

Mary Ellen Slayter
Washington Post columnist
Monday, April 30, 2007 2:00 PM

The Washington area is a magnet for smart, ambitious young workers. Post columnist Mary Ellen Slayter writes a regular column for these professionals who are establishing their careers locally, and offers advice online as well.

Mary Ellen Slayter is author of Career Track, a biweekly column in The Washington Post's Jobs section. She focuses her chat on issues affecting young workers.

Read Mary Ellen's latest Career Track column.

The transcript follows below.

washingtonpost.com: This discussion will begin momentarily.

Mary Ellen Slayter: Good afternoon!

The most recent column was about last-minute career planning for this year's college grads. Any advice for the class of 2007?

Columbia, Md.: I was a decent student with about 3.6 GPA in my area of study (economics), but I can't get a job. The few opportunities that I had came down to the issue of experience ("You took challenging courses and was a good student, but you have no experience outside of school"), how do they expect me to have an experience if I don't get an opportunity?

Mary Ellen Slayter: This is where internships come in. You can get the experience you need at little risk to the employer. It's best to think of internships as an extension of your schooling.

Yes, it's frustrating to work for free, but it's usually only a few months. If you're good, there's a high chance it will turn into a real job.

And sadly, grades don't matter much unless you're trying to get back into school.