Transcript

D.C. Schools Investigation

Network News

X Profile
View More Activity
Dan Keating, April Witt and V. Dion Haynes
Washington Post Staff Writers
Monday, June 11, 2007; 12:00 PM

Washington Post reporters Dan Keating, April Witt and V. Dion Haynes were online Monday, June 11 at noon, ET to discuss their investigative series about the D.C. public school system.

Submit your questions or comments before or during the discussion.

April Witt: Welcome. Thanks to everyone who is joining us. You've posted a lot of good questions already and we're looking forward to receiving more. Let's get started.

Wellington, Florida: This is more a comment than question: When will this mess of a DC school system ever change? In 1966 I was a naive 23-year-old teacher with the National Teacher Corps, a federally financed, but short-lived experiment analogous to the Peace Corps organization. I was (for one year)stationed at Banneker Jr. High School across the street from the old DC Teachers College. What an environment! Students brought weapons to class everyday, teachers were untrained or incompetent (many had other jobs like taxi cab drivers),most teachers were uncertified, the principal was a major obstacle to any changes, English textbooks were 10 years out-of-date or nonexistent.

I could list a litany of similar failures along with your article, many from an insider's view. D.C. public schools are an embarrassment and a national disgrace. The more things change, the more they stay the same!!

April Witt: Thanks so much for posting your comment. I'm interested that you recall the schools as being so terrible in 1966. Because those were supposed to be relatively golden years compared to conditions today. Thanks for the insight.