Career Track Live

Network News

X Profile
View More Activity
Mary Ellen Slayter
Washington Post columnist
Monday, September 24, 2007; 2:00 PM

The Washington area is a magnet for smart, ambitious young workers. Post columnist Mary Ellen Slayter writes a regular column for these professionals who are establishing their careers locally, and offers advice online as well.

Mary Ellen Slayter is author of Career Track, a biweekly column in The Washington Post's Jobs section. She focuses her chat on issues affecting young workers.

Read Mary Ellen's latest Career Track column.

The transcript follows below.

Mary Ellen Slayter: Good afternoon! Welcome to Career Tracks Live, which if you read the Sunday column, represents a bit of a change in my column. Instead of focusing just on young workers, we're now an all-ages show.

Fairfax, Va. : I've been a successful retail store manager for 10 years and am having trouble trying to transition into the corporate sector. One of the things I lack is a college degree.

In the corporate world, would I be considered for a position if they note a college degree is required? My resume is complete and I feel I've got the experience in sales, customer service and people management to be successful but I'm having trouble trying to find out where to start.

Mary Ellen Slayter: Get the degree. There was once a time that you could substitute experience for education, but that time has passed. You may feel that your work experience is "enough," but you're competing for jobs with people who have both experience AND a degree.

When faced with a big stack of applications for a job, hiring managers look for quick ways to thin the pile. The absence of a degree is an obvious one. It might not be fair, but it happens.