Transcript

Post Summer Internships

Monica Hesse, Jonathan Mummolo and Ethan Robinson
Washington Post Interns
Saturday, September 8, 2007; 7:00 PM

Do you want the scoop on summer internships in The Post's newsroom? Here's your chance to chat about the program with three former interns -- Monica Hesse, a reporting intern on the Style desk, Jonathan Mummolo, a Metro reporting intern and Ethan Robinson, a copy editing intern. Details about how the 12-week program works and how to apply can be found here. But as the Nov. 1 application deadline nears, Hesse, Mummolo and Robinson were on hand to help potential applicants better understand the program, the highly competitive selection process and what it's like to work in The Post's newsroom. Please join them here Monday, Oct. 8 at at 7 p.m.

The transcript follows.

Columbia, Mo.: In what format should copy editing clips be sent? Do they prefer headlines, before-and-afters...?

Ethan Robinson: Hi. I am a copy editing intern, but I don't know if my answer will be very helpful. The Post, on its Web site, asks for copy edited stories to be photocopied on regular pieces of printer paper (12 by whatever). But I had printing problems and ended up photocopying edited stories onto giant, newspaper-size pieces of paper. My packaged was a bit ugly. I'd suggest following the tips on the Post's Web site for how to send clips. I can't say for sure what impressed the editors, but I know I'm always most proud of good, short headlines, or stories where I make a substantial structural change that I think makes a significant improvement. The paper also has requires copy editors to take a test, which is very important.

Coral Gables, Fla.: How did your expectations of the internship compare to the actual experience?

Jonathan Mummolo: Hi all, I'm a general assignment reporting intern on the Metro desk.