Transcript

Health Insurance

Network News

X Profile
View More Activity
Karen Pollitz
Research Professor, Georgetown University Health Policy Institute
Wednesday, October 17, 2007; 12:30 PM

Karen Pollitz: Hello and welcome to the Washington Post online discussion about health insurance. I'm Karen Pollitz, a research professor at Georgetown University, and I'm happy to participate in this discussion. I'll try to answer as many of your questions as I can in the hour that we have. This is an important topic. Navigating health insurance changes can sometimes be complicated and confusing. For more general information, please also see health insurance consumer guides that my Georgetown colleagues and I have developed. They're free to the public online at www.healthinsuranceinfo.net.

This Story
View All Items in This Story
View Only Top Items in This Story

Washington, DC: Hi. I am a self-employed artist with an individual Carefirst plan. I also have a strong family history of breast cancer and am considered high risk (currently getting heightened screening). I was wondering what would happen if I move to another state. Would I likely be denied coverage and/or is my Carefirst policy portable? Thanks, Betsy.

Karen Pollitz: Your CareFirst policy is not necessarily portable. My understanding is that some Blues plans will accept transfers from other states, but you can't count on that.

In most states, your ability to buy insurance on your own (outside of a job-based plan) is highly dependent on your health status. But in a few, such as NY, insurers cannot take your health status into account when they decide whether to issue coverage or how much to charge. To learn more about your health insurance protections in other states, see Georgetown's consumer guides at www.healthinsuranceinfo.net.