Please note: Hax's chat archive has moved to a new page here.

Carolyn Hax Live

Network News

X Profile
View More Activity
Carolyn Hax
Washington Post Staff Writer
Friday, November 16, 2007; 12:00 PM

Carolyn takes your questions and comments about her current advice column and any other questions you might have about the strange train we call life. Her answers may appear online or in an upcoming column.

Appearing every day in The Washington Post Style section and in the Sunday Source, Carolyn Hax offers readers advice based on the experiences of someone who's been there. Hax is an ex-repatriated New Englander with a liberal arts degree and a lot of opinions and that's about it, really, when you get right down to it. Oh, and the shoes. A lot of shoes.

Carolyn's Recent Columns

-----

Turkeyday, U.S.A.: How do you convince a really kind person that you really are fine being left to yourself on a major holiday?

I'm a single grad student balancing work and writing a dissertation. Since our immediate families are across the country, this year a friend and I decided to forgo the Thanksgiving hoopla by cooking what we wanted, watching movies, and doing crafts. I've gotten lots of other invitations, but when people hear my plans they all seem jealous.

My friend was rounding up other strays who might want to join and has gotten us invited to another family's shindig. I don't want to go--I know and like these people even, but I want a quiet crafty day, and I've turned down many similar offers. But if I say so then she won't go either (even if she really wants to) because she'll feel bad about leaving me on my own. And I promise I'm not going to be sewing little Christmas outfits for cats.

Carolyn Hax: You know what? Even if you do stay home to make Christmas outfits for your cats, your friend will be the one with the problem.