Career Track Live

Network News

X Profile
View More Activity
Mary Ellen Slayter
Washington Post Staff Writer and guest
Monday, December 3, 2007; 2:00 PM

The Washington area is a magnet for smart and ambitious workers. Post columnist Mary Ellen Slayter writes a regular column for these professionals who are either establishing their careers or are looking to advance. She also offers advice online.

Mary Ellen Slayter is author of Career Track, a biweekly column in The Washington Post's Jobs section. She focuses her chat on issues affecting working professionals.

Read Mary Ellen's latest Career Track column.

Find more career-related news and advice in our Jobs section.

The transcript follows below.

Mary Ellen Slayter: Welcome! My guest today is Alex Frankel, author of "Punching In." I reviewed the book in my column this weekend. Click on the link above to learn more about it.

Tampa, Fla.: I am a young professional, working in my first "office" job in a nonprofit organization. I have been working with this company for nearly a year.

I love the company, but not my boss. My boss and my co-worker are best friends and my boss treats her as such, permitting her to miss meetings, come in late, take time off, etc. when I am not permitted to do so.

I work really hard, and receive very high marks on all performance-related reviews and enjoy working with all of my co-workers and the other departments at my company.

Within my own department, however, I am finding it hard to navigate office politics/relationships. The last straw is that my boss was laughing at how much of a pushover I am, telling other co-workers that she likes to take advantage of my work ethic because she knows that I will do any project she gives me. She was also making fun of the clothing I wear.

I know that there are some things in the office world that are a given, but I find this to be extremely unprofessional, and hurtful to boot.