Transcript

Napping to Feed the Brain

Network News

X Profile
View More Activity
Dennis Drabelle
Book World Editor
Tuesday, April 29, 2008; 11:00 AM

Sleeping during the day isn't just for babies and the elderly. The brain food napping provides can be of use at all ages. Slipping into slumber for a few minutes can improve productivity at work and enhance creativity.

This Story

Book World Contributing Editor Dennis Drabelle, was online Tuesday, April 29, at 11 a.m. ET to discuss the importance of napping during the day.

A transcript follows

Dennis Drabelle: Welcome to a discussion on napping (and sleep questions generally, if you wish). I hope everybody stays awake. I also want to remind you that I'm not a doctor, so I will probably have to say something like "Go talk to your doctor about this" from time to time. I'm just a guy who has developed a keen interest in sleep--largely, I think, because I suffer from insomnia--and looked into the science and literature of sleep. An informed amateur, if you will.

Alexandria, Va: I get bad headaches (not quite migraines, but close) about once a month. The only thing that "cures" them is a nap. Do you know anything about naps/sleep and how they relieve headaches?

Dennis Drabelle: This question sounds pretty medical, so I will only say that, for me, getting too little sleep causes headaches. Napping doesn't always cure them, but sometimes it helps. I think in those cases it's just a question of catching up on the sleep we've lost.

Bethesda, Md: Question comes to mind, what constitutes a good length of a nap?