Transcript

Election 2008: Previewing the Indiana Primary

Brian Howey
Editor, Howey Political Report
Monday, May 5, 2008; 12:00 PM

Howey Political Report editor Brian Howey was online Monday, May 5 at noon ET to take your questions on the Democratic primary in Indiana on Tuesday, the vice presidential chances of Sen. Evan Bayh and how things look in the state for November.

The transcript follows.

Brian Howey: Greetings from Indiana. I am Brian Howey and I've been publishing Howey Politics Indiana since 1994. I've been writing a newspaper column since my days at the Elkhart Truth, going back to 1985, and it appears in 25 papers across the state -- and, of course, you can find all the top Indiana political news at my Web site. I've attended about a dozen Clinton and Obama events, ranging from press conferences to town halls in the past couple weeks. I can tell you that Hoosiers -- and yes, we are proud to be called Hoosiers -- never have been so excited about political participation. With that said, your questions, please!

Kansas City, Mo.: Why isn't anyone asking why Hillary can't win over educated voters, activists, blacks or the youth? Why are white, uneducated "Reagan Democrats" considered so much more important than the educated, the politically involved and the most reliable Democratic constituency? The future of our country is being discounted in favor of the "swing" voters who have not been a strong voting bloc for the Democrats in years.

Brian Howey: Our polling is showing that the Indiana primary may be decided by Republican and independent voters. Up to 20 percent may be non-Democrats. In the Howey-Gauge Poll of April 23-24, 10 percent of participants were expected to be Republicans and 9 percent independents. Unlike Pennsylvania, this is a crossover state. Republicans were favoring Clinton 50-44. So the "Reagan Democrats" may not be the ones who decide this election. It could be the Obamicans and the Limbaugh chaos seekers who swing this election.