The Root: Is Generation Y Colorblind?

Network News

X Profile
View More Activity
Saaret Yoseph and Mebrahtu Grmai
Writers for The Root
Wednesday, July 23, 2008; 12:00 PM

Many describe the millennial generation as the most "colorblind" in American history -- but does that really mean that Generation Y is free of racism? This week, The Root offers several perspectives by young writers on this question.

Saaret Yoseph, writer and editorial assistant for The Root, and writer Mebrahtu Grmai were online Wednesday, July 23 to discuss their differing views on colorblindness among their peers.

A transcript follows.

Saaret Yoseph: Hi everyone! My name is Saaret Yoseph. I'm a writer and editorial assistant for The Root. I just wrote a piece for the site called, "Gen-Y and the Colorblind Lie" that discussed the misconceptions about my generation's perspective on race. I know it's a dicey and complicated issue, but I'm excited to talk to you all and have an open discussion about race in America.

Mebrahtu Grmai: Hey everyone, my name is Mebrahtu Grmai. I am a recent graduate of UMBC, and a novice writer. I grew up around the melting pot of Montgomery and P.G. Counties.

I recently wrote an article for The Root, basically describing my sentiments towards the ever-debated "N" word. You could sum up how I feel by saying, I really don't care one way or the other if it is in our vernacular, for me (excuse my selfishness) it's lost its meaning. I just wish it was consistent. I think it should either be used by all, or by none. No middle ground. Basically, unless black people stop using it first, the word will endure.

Bend, Ore.: How racially educated do you feel a white person can be solely through exposure to black media? Substantially different than one with black friends? Can you tell that someone asking a question like this is desperate for approval? Have you had a chance to hear Nas' new tracks?