washingtonpost.com
Election 2008: Online Efforts

Jose Antonio Vargas
Washington Post Politics and Technology Reporter
Wednesday, August 20, 2008 12:00 PM

Washington Post politics and technology reporter Jose Antonio Vargas was online Wednesday, Aug. 20 at noon ET to discuss online efforts by Sen. John McCain's and Sen. Barack Obama's campaigns and by outside groups.

The transcript follows.

Jose Antonio Vargas: Hi. Thanks for signing on. I've been covering the marriage of politics and technology for about 18 months now. Lots of innovations, of course, particularly when it comes to online videos and text-messaging. That's why we decided to focus heavily on those two aspects in the story.

Ask away.

Washington: A great read, Vargas. This is a comprehensive piece. Was it hard to get them to talk?

Jose Antonio Vargas: You just called me Vargas? Who is this? Navtej?

Thanks. :-)

That was the goal, to be comprehensive. We've written about Obama's Internet team in bits and pieces -- whenever they post a YouTube video that gets thousands of hits, online fundraising numbers, etc. What I wanted to capture was the entire operation itself. More important, what kind of lessons can we learn about our "media ecology" -- as Andrew Rasiej of Personal Democracy Forum describes it -- has changed.

Northern Virginia: I am 46 and love the Obama site. I use almost all the features except for sponsoring a fundraiser. It's not just for twentysomethings. I worry, though, about the loyal Democratic Party activists who skew a bit older and sometimes have minimal computer skills. I have run into a lot of them. They typically think they know how to "go online" and are proud of it, but they get stuck after a screen or two. Imagine how they feel then. It's really a shame, as many older Democrats supported Hillary Clinton and are being good sports even to try my.barackobama in the first place.