washingtonpost.com
Baseball's Coming of Age in the Dominican Republic

Barry Svrluga
Washington Post Staff Writer
Monday, March 9, 2009 11:00 AM

Washington Post staff writer Barry Svrluga discusses why so many baseball players from the Dominican Republic are able to falsify their ages in order to appear younger.

Submit your questions and comments before or during the discussion.

Read more: The Dreamers and the Schemers In the Dominican System, Young Stars Play While the Street Agents Work It

Barry Svrluga: Hello, folks. Thanks for stopping by. Haven't done one of these in a while, so bear with me.

We're here to talk about this morning's story about baseball in the Dominican Republic. Some background: I went down to the D.R. for eight days with photographer Sarah Voisin late last month, tracking down Carlos Alvarez/Esmailyn Gonzalez and spending some time poking around. I'm not an expert in Dominican baseball because of that, but I do have a better feel for how all this happens than I did before I went, and I already see some interesting questions that we'll get to.

That said, I'm also sitting in the press box at Space Coast Stadium in Viera, Fla., and will be covering the Nationals for the next week, so I'd be happy to take any Nats questions you might have (though my insight might not be that great, given I haven't been around the team yet this spring).

Anyway, let's get rolling.

Sec 114, Row E: Barry - great article on the DR.

Do you have any insight as to what the Nats will do with Smiley Lugo? As a 23-year-old, he won a batting title against teenage pitchers (whoop-de-doo) in a league with a 55 game season. Don't the Nats have to jump him to a full season league -- like at the AA level and put him in a sink-or-swim situation?

Barry Svrluga: Section 114, thanks for reading.