» This Story:Read +|Talk +| Comments

Real Wheels

Network News

X Profile
View More Activity
Warren Brown
Washington Post columnist
Friday, April 3, 2009; 11:00 AM

Washington Post cars columnist Warren Brown was online to answer your questions about every aspect of the automotive industry.

This Story

Silver Spring, Md.: Hi Warren, this is my first time sending you a question... Why can't you pay points on an auto loan and get a lower rate like you can with a real estate loan?

Warren Brown: Good morning, Silver Spring:

If you think of "points" in terms of a down payment, you can pay the equivalent of points on an auto loan and get a lower rate. It's a matter of reducing risks. The more you put down, the more you reduce the risk of the loan to the lender, and the more room you have for bargaining a lower annual percentage rate.

Columbia, Md.: You reviewed the Kia Soul this week, and commented on the suspension issues over bad roads. I was wondering if you had a chance to drive the + trim level over the same roads, as I test-drove both and found that the + was much better over the same bumps and potholes, due to the higher sidewalls on the 16" tires compared to the 18" tires on the !. In other words, it may be an issue of the amount of rubber, rather than the suspension, although the suspension would certainly help, as it did in the Sport model I also tested.

Warren Brown: You are absolutely right, Columbia. The Kia+ with the high-aspect ratio tires, the higher sidewalls you refer to, offers a much, much better ride over bad roads. Low-aspect ratio tires, lower sidewalls, with a rather tight suspension, are simply murderous over those roads.

Germantown, Md..: Hi Warren, I've heard different things from different dealers on this. In the stimulus package, sales tax can be deducted from a new car purchase, does this include a lease? Thanks.