» This Story:Read +|Talk +| Comments

Small Business Week: The Economy and Entrepreneurs

Network News

X Profile
View More Activity
Tim Kane
Economist and Senior Fellow, Kauffman Foundation
Tuesday, May 19, 2009; 12:00 PM

Tim Kane, an economist and senior fellow with the Kauffman Foundation, will be online to discuss how entrepreneurs and small businesses can survive the recession on Tuesday, May 19 at Noon ET.

This Story

Kane, who founded multiple software firms, co-authors the Growthology blog, which tracks key research and policy ideas that are accelerating economic growth and changing the world.

For more from our Small Buinsss Week series of live discussions, click here.

Tim Kane: Hello everyone. Tim Kane here. I am an economist with the Kauffman Foundation (kauffman.org) where I write a blog (growthology.org) and try to advance good ideas to help grow the economy and promote entrepreneurship. I am open to questions, about the economy, about new firms, about the latest Star Trek movie, bring 'em on!

Auburn, Wash.: I have been in Business for about 2.5 years. I am not on a major street, in fact more of an older downtown area. There is traffic that drives by, although I do not have a lot of traffic in my store. How can I make my traffic in store busier? What is a good marketing method to bring the customers in?

Tim Kane: Hi Auburn. I would advise building mentor network. Ask some folks that you respect in business to serve on an unpaid advisory board. There are thousand questions about business tactics that a board can guide you in ways that online answers never can. That said, I am in favor of big signs that you change with some frequency. Depends on what you are selling, of course.

Washington, D.C.: A new Kauffman study says immigrants are becoming entrepreneurs at a higher rate than natives. Why do you think that is and what are the characteristics imigrants have that may be fueling this trend?