Post Politics Hour

Network News

X Profile
View More Activity
Paul Kane
Washington Post Staff Writer
Thursday, June 18, 2009; 11:00 AM

Washington Post congressional reporter Paul Kane was online Thursday, June 18 at 11 a.m. ET to discuss the latest news about the White House and Congress.

A transcript follows.

Archive: Post Politics Hour discussion transcripts

Paul Kane: Good morning, folks. Wow, the news on Capitol Hill is just, well, I don't know. Over the years now I've written about DOJ/FBI investigations into Torricelli, Stevens, Abramoff and his cronies, and sex scandals involving Larry Craig and now Ensign, and I think there are some others that I'm forgetting. Oh, Vitter. I'm beginning to think, You know, maybe it's not them; maybe it's me. Maybe I'm the cause of all this, the way the hatch's magnetic forces in LOST caused all those plane crashes, somehow I'm the guy who's got this magnetic force propelling these guys into acting so badly. Or maybe I'm just a reporting deviant and I like writing about these bad things.

OK, enough navel gazing. On to your questions. And I promise to write about more than just the Ensign scandal and the rain-plagued U.S. Open.

-pk

Des Peres, Mo.: Hey, Paul. How seriously do you take these most recent polls that suggest the public is either tiring or becoming suspicious of the President's many programs? More importantly, does Congress take those polls into account when they decide how much they should oppose a presidential initiative? Thanks.

Paul Kane: OK, lots of Obama-poll questions. The Republicans love the new info, and the line of last night -- which a senior GOP aide emailed me at 7:45 last night after watching Hardball -- was "the honeymoon is over."