spacer

Color of Money Book Club

Network News

X Profile
View More Activity
Michelle Singletary
Washington Post Columnist
Thursday, August 27, 2009; 12:00 PM

Personal finance columnist Michelle Singletary will host an online discussion about how to get ahead in the job market with Reesa Staten, a career research studies expert at Robert Half International, and Sharon Black, who oversees a team of recruiters at that company, on Thursday, August 27 at Noon ET.

Submit your questions and comments anytime before or during the discussion.

Read Michelle's past Color of Money columns or check out her past Book Club picks.

A transcript follows.

Michelle Singletary: Welcome. I hope you all are enjoying the last bit of summer.

I am. I already need another vacation :)

Anyway, I see we have a lot of questions piling up already so let's get started.

Fontana, Calif.: I just completed my MBA and I have been working for the State of California for about 26 years ages. At this time there are very few job opportunities with the State due to the economy. What type of job can I obtain (part time) with a MBA?

Sharon Black: It depends on your work experience. There are companies that will hire part time particularly during this economy. You may have to be flexible with pay and temporary work could be an option as well.

Topeka, Kan.: I currently work in Kansas but I'm am looking for a job in a different state due to my fiance getting relocated. Even though my resume will say I presently work in Kansas, should I put my Kansas address or my future out of state address? Does it even matter? Thanks!

Sharon Black: I would keep your current address on your resume if you are not moving soon. Your cover letter should indicate that you are relocating.

If you are moving in the next couple of weeks, then I would put your new address with a local phone number.

Maryland: Submitting question early... Hello Michelle,