Ezra Klein on the Public Option, Insurance Paperwork and Counting the Uninsured

Network News

X Profile
View More Activity
Ezra Klein
Washington Post Business Blogger
Thursday, September 10, 2009; 12:00 PM

Ezra Klein writes a Post blog about economic and domestic policy, and he was online Thursday, Sept. 10 at Noon ET to take your questions about collapsing banks, cap and trade, health-care reform and pretty much anything else you can attach a chart to.

A transcript follows.

Ezra Klein: Good morning folks. I have no idea what we're going to talk about. None. The news is just so slow. I just don't know what I'll do with all this free time.

I'll stop now. Questions!

Princeton, N.J.: I am a mathematician and the inability of smart people to face facts on "tort reform" is driving me nuts. These facts are clear. States with tort reform not only have no lower health costs, but the frequency of tests and treatments is similar to those states without tort reform. Tort reform, caps on malpractice suits, does not save money. If you go to page 150 ff of this document, you will see much of the data.

But look at Texas. Although health costs did not go down, the number of malpractice suits did go down. Attorneys must put up hundreds of thousands to contest a malpractice case. This is true of any civil suit against a wealthy doctor or a big corporation. Read "A Civil Action" or see the movie. The lawyers do not want to recoup this money from the funds needed to treat the victim or from the part for pain and suffering. They take these funds from the punitive damages. Cap the punitive damages, and attorneys cannot afford to take the risk. The main result of tort reform is that injured people cannot seek redress for their ills. This is madness.

Is there any way I can get people to face facts besides going to the Mall, pouring gasoline over myself, and lighting a match?