Fantasy Check Live: Fantasy Football

Network News

X Profile
View More Activity
Gene Wang
Washington Post Staff Writer
Friday, September 18, 2009; 12:30 PM

Want to win your league this year? Washington Post fantasy guru Gene Wang, who writes The Post's Fantasy Check blog, was online Friday, Sep. 18 to help get your fantasy football team through the playoffs.

The transcript follows.

Fantasy Check Blog

Discussion Archive

Gene Wang: Welcome to another installment of Fantasy Check Live. Let's get right to your questions after a busy week of injuries around the league.

Alexandria, Va.: Good afternoon Gene,

This is my first year in a PPR league and I'm still trying to get used to it ... Strategy wise should I always use my flex position for a wide receiver (we play 1 QB, 2 RB, 2 WR, 1 WR/RB, 1 TE, 1 D/ST, 1K). I seem to have a bunch of guys who might seem to fit in that flex position (Earl Bennett, Nate Burleson, Dwayne Bowe and Michael Bell).

I was thinking of using Bennett there, since he and Cutler seem to have history dating back to college, but the others seem to have their upside too.

Gene Wang: Depending on whom your No. 2 RB is, you may want to consider moving Bell into that slot, even if Pierre Thomas is back. Bell has been too good for the Saints to keep on the bench. Otherwise, Bennett and Burleson are good flex players in PPR leagues. They both had 11 targets last week, which is a good indication they are significantly involved in the passing game.

Severna Park, Md.: Hey Gene:

Since this is the season of the wide receiver, I kept Randy Moss and drafted Calvin Johnson, and Reggie Wayne. I plan on starting these guys evry week regardless of matchup. What I'm worried about is my running backs. Which two do you like this week: Kevin Smith, Thomas Jones, Steve Slaton, or Julius Jones?