America's Next Great Pundit

Network News

X Profile
View More Activity
Fred Hiatt
Editorial Page Editor
Wednesday, October 14, 2009; 11:00 AM

There's only one week left to submit an entry for the Post's America's Next Great Pundit contest! The ultimate winner will win the opportunity to write a weekly column for the Post, a launching pad for your opinionating career!

Editorial page editor Fred Hiatt was online Wednesday, Oct. 14 at 11 a.m. ET to discuss the contest.

A transcript follows.

Fred Hiatt: Welcome all and thanks for joining this chat. The subject is our contest to pick America's next great pundit, but I'm sure we may also digress in the next 30 minutes...

Washington, DC : Mr. Hiatt, If I may, why did you do this contest? What America needs right now is not a mindless pontificator, but actual experts knowledgeable in economics, ecology, law, and more. I am a journalist, and a professional at that, and when so many journalists are losing their jobs, this seems like a foolish promotion. What do we as readers gain from the contest?

Fred Hiatt: This seems like a good place to start. Why did we do it? We thought it would be fun--fun for contestants, and fun for readers also. And we thought there are probably a lot of people who would like to try this, who would be good at it, and would have interesting, insightful things to say that our readers would benefit from reading.

Fred Hiatt: Also--I agree we need journalists with expertise. I don't look at this as an either/or proposition.

Boston: Great idea in theory but $200 a column doesn't seem like it is worth the scrutiny a winner would receive for putting their views out there. Seems like not a lot of upside for the potential downside of a current or future employer questioning your judgment for participating.

Fred Hiatt: I don't expect most people will be doing it for the money. (Of course, most journalists wouldn't be journalists if they were doing it for the money.)