washingtonpost.com
Opinion focus with Eugene Robinson: Climate-change skeptics are barking up the wrong smokestack

Eugene Robinson
Washington Post Columnist
Tuesday, December 1, 2009 1:00 PM

Washington Post columnist Eugene Robinson was online Tuesday, Dec. 1 to discuss his recent columns and the latest news.

Read today's column: Target practice in Copenhagen in which Gene writes: "Climate-change skeptics are barking up the wrong smokestack. The shell game being played isn't with the science, it's with the solutions -- specifically, the carbon emissions targets that enlightened world leaders are pledging to meet. That's where the numbers don't add up."

Archive of past discussions.

Eugene Robinson: Hi, everybody. We have the Afghanistan speech tonight, the climate change conference in Copenhagen next week, and the health care debate (apparently) for the rest of our lives. Let's get started.

Atlanta: I'm far from an expert on climate change - but I am getting the feeling that we are over-reacting here. The complexity of the world atmosphere is obvious, and at this point I just don't by the alarm. Look here in Atlanta - 3 years ago we were scrambling under an historic drought that threatened our drinking supply and today we sit with a flush Lake Lanier and flooding rains that destroy homes. I don't buy that this is somehow a result of overall climate change, and I'm not willing to extend national resources to combat something that is still so unknown. We changed our habits in Atlanta to adjust to the concerns and these changes were relatively painless and individual (use less water, buy more efficient water-consuming appliances, recycle rainwater) - isn't the proper course one that empowers the people to individually adjust to changes rather than impose government-wide emissions caps that, frankly, don't indicate much change (the earth has been cooler than anytime in the last 100 years in the past 12-14 months and surprise: two years of relative hurricane-free su